Possible Debut Author Challenge alternative for 2013?!

Good Morning everyone!  After reading about all the drama and plagiarism accusations that have been targeted at Kristi of The Story Siren I have been pondering creating an alternative to The Debut Author Challenge for 2013.  See the thing that really bothered me about the current Debut Author Challenge is that it’s only kept to YA.  Granted that is the genre that The Story Siren reviews but there are so many more genre’s out there that have debut authors as well and there doesn’t appear to be Debut Author Challenge’s for those genre’s.

I am writing this post to see if there is any interest in an alternative to the current Debut Author Challenge?  Which could mean including more genre’s in the challenge, a possible separate blog for the challenge and several other things I’ve been thinking.  So please feel free to leave me any feedback below in the comments section.  Please only constructive criticism or idea’s.  I’m trying to get a feel for how others feel about this idea and want the comments section to be a “safe” place for a healthy discussion.  Thank you.

Because this would be a great undertaking I’m also wondering if there are other bloggers out there that would possibly be interested in partnering with me on this project?  If you are interested here is what I’m looking for in partner(s) for this project:

  • I’m not a huge blog with a TON of followers, so I’m not going to say that you must have a certain number of followers to be a partner either. 
  • A willingness to help me spread the word about the new challenge.
  • A willingness to help me create a space for the new challenge
  • The more the merrier!

If you are any of those things please feel free to drop me an email at notyourmothersbookblog@yahoo.com.

 

15 comments on “Possible Debut Author Challenge alternative for 2013?!

    • I think that’s why a lot of people didn’t participate. Because it was so limited. There has been a lot of interest in opening up the challenge to more categories for next year.

  1. I don’t really participate in challenges, but I do think this is a good idea. I think people need alternative options to the things they’re used to going to The Story Siren for, since many of us have made the personal choice to obstain.

  2. The reason I didn’t participate was because of the YA restriction. Opening up to more would be great. Will help promote, but I am already hosting a challenge that keeps me hopping. Please keep me posted!

  3. Pingback: Buzz Worthy News 30 April 2012 | Cuddlebuggery Book Blog

  4. Pingback: I promise there will be REVIEWS! | J.R. After Dark

  5. Pingback: This week on J.R. After Dark « J.R. After Dark

  6. Just saw this, I run a speculative fiction Debut Author Challenge for mostly non YA. 2013 will be the 3rd year. Let me know if I can help in any way.

  7. I have never participated in a reading challenge before but for some reason I have an interest in trying to do a challenge in 2013. I am an adult, so the YA thing was not for me and every other challenge I have looked at has been tied to a specific genre — Sci Fi, Romance, Witches & Witchcraft — to name a few I have encountered, all genres that I don’t read much, if any, of. So, I would be interested in joining your challenge and talking about it on LibraryThing and Facebook and Goodreads and inviting my friends to join in the fun. Hope this gets off the ground!

Talk to me Goose!....

