Dragon Bound (Elder Races #1) by Thea Harrison

Dragon Bound (Elder Races, #1)

Dragon Bound by Thea Harrison

Book Stats:

Reading Level: Adult
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Format Reviewed: Mass Market Paperback, 312 pages
Publisher: Berkley Sensation
Release Date: May 3, 2011

Series: Elder Races #1

Source: Personal purchase

 Half-human and half-wyr, Pia Giovanni spent her life keeping a low profile among the wyrkind and avoiding the continuing conflict between them and their dark Fae enemies. But after being blackmailed into stealing a coin from the hoard of a dragon, Pia finds herself targeted by one of the most powerful-and passionate-of the Elder races.

Why I read this book?: This series was recommended to me a little while ago by the lovely ladies who blog together on The Book Vixen.

What I liked?: I really liked how this book started off.  Pia has just stolen, which she was blackmailed into doing, from Dragos and is on her way to deliver the item to the “shithead” (aka her ex).  Once Dragos figures out he’s been stolen from he goes into a rage and that is when interesting things start happening.

Pia Giovanni, has spent her whole life trying to keep under wraps that she’s half-human and half-wyr.  She’s also spent her whole life purposely trying to avoid drama. She’s been on her own since her mother died when she was 19, she’s now 25. Then she meets Keith (aka the “shithead”) and that’s when her life starts to spiral out of control.

One thing that really drew me to Pia was that even though she is Dragos’ calming force she doesn’t take any of his handouts.  She wants to keep her life her’s as much as she possibly can under the circumstances.  She’s more than capable of taking care of herself and she makes no bones about showing that to Dragos.

Dragos Cuelebre has been around a long time, like since the beginning of the universe.  He’s demanding.  He’s also tall, dark and handsome AND VERY MUCH an Alpha.  He’s so used to getting his way that he completely flipped his top when he was stolen from.  Then Pia comes into his life and he’s thrown for a total loop because she won’t put up with any of his crap.

There is mystery and humor through out this book that kept it engaging and a total page turner for me.  Pia’s heritage is revealed in the book and it was a shock to me.  Though I will admit to being a little bit confused about whether Pia actually knew what her wyr-half really was.  She knew enough that she kept as much information about herself to herself but I wasn’t 100% on if she knew “herself” as well as she seemed to think she did.

The romance in this book was really great in my opinion.  In the beginning I thought it started on deceit but once Dragos and Pia got together things started to build at an even keel.  What I really loved about the developement of the romance was that Pia didn’t let Dragos push her around and forced him to go at a pace that she was comfortable with.

What I disliked?: I got nothing!

Overall Impression: I think that this book is an excellent start to this series and I really want to thank the ladies over at The Book Vixen for recommending this series!

Rating: AWESOME SAUCE AWARD!

5 comments on “Dragon Bound (Elder Races #1) by Thea Harrison

  1. So I don’t think it saved the first comment!!!

    I was asking if you changed your blog layout because it looks different? LOL. Could just be me.;)

    Thank you for visiting my WoW!! 🙂 Can’t wait for Vlad!!! Yay!! Almost here.:)

    Also Great review you wrote for Dragon Bound! I also just read it this past week.:)

    Hey have a wonderful weekend!!:) ❤

  2. Pingback: This week on J.R. After Dark « J.R. After Dark

Talk to me Goose!....

