Streamline Blog Tour Stop! Review and Giveaway Announcements!

Hello everyone!  Today is my day to host Jennifer Lane as a part of the blog tour for her new book Streamline.  During this tour several blogs will be giving away copies of Streamline (my blog is NOT one of them unfortunately), so I’ve included a link to the Master List of tour stops for this book.  The author is also giving away a $25 Amazon/BN gift card on her blog as a part of this tour as well.  The giveaway runs from May 7-May 16.

StreamlineStreamline by Jennifer Lane

Book Stats

Reading Level: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary YA
Format Reviewed: E-Arc
Publisher: Omnific Publishing
Release Date: March 27, 2012

Series: N/A

Source:  received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Seems like Leo Scott has it all: looks, brains, and athletic talent. He’s captain of his high school swim team with a bright future in college and beyond. But Leo has secrets. His mother’s crippling car accident has devastated his family and left Leo to deal with his father’s abuse, battered and alone.
Leo’s girlfriend Audrey Rose is poised for her own share of success. As one of Florida’s top high school swimmers, Audrey dreams of college swimming stardom. But there’s an obstacle to her glorious rise to the top. Her number-one supporter–her father–is in prison for murder.
Part murder mystery, part tale of young love in a military family, this gripping story takes readers on a journey from Pensacola to Annapolis. Leo and Audrey must band together to rise above the adversity they encounter and find their true selves in the process. When everything’s on the line . . . streamline.

I am so glad that I signed on for the tour of this book.  I saw the cover initially on Goodreads and was instantly attracted to it right away.  Then my e-arc arrived and I just tore through it.  I had a hard time putting my Nook down to do other things.

I’ve never really read a book about swimmers before so this was brand new experience for me, reading wise.  I’m happy to saw that my experience was a happy one 🙂  I wasn’t real familiar with some of the terminology but I felt like I was experiencing a swim competition just through reading.  Apparently, swimmers go through some pretty INTENSE training as well.

Moving on to the characters of the book…..I liked Audrey.  She came across as the “athletic girl next door.”  Not only does she come off as “girl next door” she is also someone who never gave up on her father, even though I’m sure a lot of other people would.  There were many instances in the book that really showed that Audrey is wise beyond her years.  I’m not going to go into them because I don’t want to give away anything.  Your just going to have to read the book and find out for yourself.

Leo…I also liked Leo a lot too. He’s a genuinely nice guy who has become pretty dang successful at his craft.  There is a problem though.  He got into his craft for the wrong reasons. If I’m being completely honest I disliked Leo’s father immensely.  All the good things that Leo had going on in his life I felt he couldn’t enjoy because of his father.  I loved reading about his relationship with Audrey also.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book a lot.  It’s a pretty emotional ride and I would recommend it to older YA readers due to some of the issues dealt with in the book.  The only thing that I was kinda hung up on with this book was the swimmer’s terminology.

Rating: Break The Bank! (4)

Where you can find Jennifer Lane:

Twitter : http://twitter.com/JenLaneBooks
Blog: http://jenniferlanebooks.blogspot.com
Webpage: http://jenniferlanebooks.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jennifer.lane.37
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2798441.Jennifer_Lane

One comment on “Streamline Blog Tour Stop! Review and Giveaway Announcements!

  1. Goose thinks you wrote a great review, Maverick! Thanks so much for being part of the tour, J.R. The gift card I’m offering is actually for $25–even more reason to enter on my blog! 😉

Talk to me Goose!....

