First Grave on the Right (Charlie Davidson #1) by Darynda Jones

First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson, #1)First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones

Book Stats:

Reading Level: Adult
Genre: PNR/Fantasy/Urban Fantasy
Format Reviewed: EPUB file
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Release Date: February 1, 2011
 
Series: Charlie Davidson #1

Source: Nook Lending Group on Goodreads

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper

Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light.” But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life…and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

This is a thrilling debut novel from an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense.

I had read so many great reviews for this series of books that I had to get my hands on a copy of them.  When they were first released they didn’t really trip my trigger because I wasn’t reading a lot of PNR at the time but now I’m reading significantly more and I’m really glad that I gave this series a shot.

Charlie is the Grim Reaper.  Meaning she can see the dead and they pass through her on their way to the other side.  Charley is also a part-time PI and with her skills and “gift” has helped her father and her uncle, who are/were cops, solve numerous cases.  Charley has a wicked sense of humor too.  She’s been having some issues recently with someone invading her dreams and having their wicked way with her in dreamland.

Then there is Reyes.  What is Reyes?  Well I’m no going to tell you, you’ll just have to read this book to find out.  Though I can tell you that he is TOTAL Alpha male and sex on two legs.  And he keeps Charlie on her toes in dreamland.

Overall, I was beyond impressed with this book.  I’m kicking myself for not getting to this series sooner.  It’s chock full of humor, action and a kick ass heroine.  I don’t know about you but I like my heroine’s strong and if they are kick ass that’s an added bonus!  Each character in this book brought something to the table, even if they were little itty bitty secondary characters.  Beside’s Charlie and Reyes my other favorite character was Angel.  He’s one of Charlie’s partners in crime.  Seriously, if you haven’t read this book pick it up NOW!

Rating:  Break The Bank! (4)

2 comments on “First Grave on the Right (Charlie Davidson #1) by Darynda Jones

Talk to me Goose!....

