Book Recommendation Thursday ~ The Selection by Kiera Cass

I haven’t done a Book Recommendation Thursday in a while.  Which is a shame since I’ve read a bunch of books that I would definitely recommend to other bloggers.  So I’m starting it back up this week with The Selection by Kiera Cass.  I read and reviewed this book on May 7 and I thought that it was chock full of Awesome Sauce.

The SelectionFor thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Regardless of the internet drama that surrounded this book personally, I LOVED it. What I really liked about The Selection, which I stated in my review, was that this book is an A-Typical Dystopian novel.  It doesn’t have that “In Your Face” Dystopian feel to it and I really enjoyed the A-Typicalness (yeah me making up words!) of this book.

I noticed that some people had issues with America.  For me I think it was more being naive about certain aspects of life than being completely clueless.  And America GROWS a TON as the book progresses.  I guess I just didn’t have the same issues that others had.

For those who dislike Love Triangles.  Sorry but there is one.  Well, it’s building into a love triangle anyway.  Personally, I’m Team Maxon and I think that Aspen can just suck it.

Overall, I was beyond impressed with this book and I hope that you will pick up a copy too.  Internet drama be damned this is a GREAT debut novel!

4 comments on “Book Recommendation Thursday ~ The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. The Selections sounds fantastic – I love the cover! Thanks for the recommendation and great review. You might also enjoy a new one out by Neil Shulman and Susan Wrathall called, The Corporate Kid. This is a humorous rags to riches story that teaches values—honesty, integrity—and ethical decision-making. You can find the authors’ website here: http://www.thecorporatekid.com

  2. I know readers are getting sick of love triangles, but I kinda wanna yell , get used to it b/c authors are still going to be doing them. I don’t really mind love triangles though. I”m always hoping my guy I”m rooting for usually gets the girl and I’m hoping that’s true for me again!

    I also recommend this book! 🙂

Talk to me Goose!....

